Contentment and birthday pizza


At the end of a beautiful day,

We caught the sun’s reddened ray

We snacked on raspberries,

Pizza and cherries

And then we went on our way.

Synopsis: I’m a Family Practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa. In 2010 I danced back from the brink of burnout, and honoring a 1 year non-compete clause, traveled and worked in out-of-the-way places in Alaska, Nebraska, Iowa, and New Zealand. After three years working with a Community Health Center, I went back to traveling and adventures in temporary positions. Assignments in Alaska, rural Iowa, suburban Pennsylvania and western Nebraska have followed.  I finished my most recent assignment in Clarinda on May 18.  Right now I’m in northern British Columbia, getting a first-hand look at the Canadian system. Any identifiable patient information has been included with permission.

Different organizations have different ways of celebrating birthdays. During my New Mexico years, I got used to bringing food for the clinic when I marked a change in age.  I continued the habit into private practice and Community health.  Mostly, I had Bethany pick out a good selection from Panera.

One of my colleagues ticked just a little closer to 40 last week, and a selection of cupcakes appeared in the clinic. And, at the last-minute, he and his wife put together a pizza-based gathering after work.

Bethany and I drove out to his house at the outskirts of town. He has had black bear, grizzly bear, deer, moose, wolves, and caribou in his back yard.  But on this particular evening we contented ourselves with stories of close wildlife encounters.

The docs drove up, one by one. Before the noise disrupted conversation, I showed off my trick of sharpening knives on the back of a ceramic plate.  Till the pizza arrived, we snacked on chips, and sweet cherries freshly picked in southern British Columbia.

We ate the pizza at leisure. I’ve written in the past about how doctors tend to bolt their food because we never know when we’re going to get called away.  These physicians know how to work hard but more than that they know how not to overwork.  We enjoyed our food.  We chatted.  Topics included economics, politics, horticulture, wildlife, and medicine.  We recounted various places we’d been.  Perhaps because of my country of origin, we had some lively history discussions, fortunately none of them mentioned the Fenian raids, where renegade Americans tried to invade Canada shortly after the Civil War.

The day waned, and I relaxed. Forest fire smoke takes the clarity from the air but it makes spectacular sunsets.  In this case, the solar disc reddened well above the horizon, while cool evening breezes mixed in with the heat of the day.  I reclined after a good day at the clinic and in the late stages of a great summer.  I had worked but not too hard, I had eaten but not too much.  I had chatted knowledgeably but without pedantry.  I had sharpened the knives, but no one cut themselves.

I wallowed in contentment, thoroughly in the moment.

After a bit we toured the grounds. We picked raspberries and ate them immediately.  We saw the Saskatoon berry bush, trampled by the visiting bear.  I looked for the peach tree I had seen earlier.

And when the mosquitos came out, we said good night.

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

