Short commute, insurance progress, and circumcision equipment


After a couple of years in the prep

I’m closer now by a step

I have the assurance

Of malpractice insurance

And the idea of work gives me pep.

Synopsis: I’m a Family Practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa. In 2010 I danced back from the brink of burnout, and honoring a 1 year non-compete clause, traveled and worked in out-of-the-way places in Alaska, Nebraska, Iowa, and New Zealand. After three years working with a Community Health Center, I went back to traveling and adventures in temporary positions. Assignments in Alaska, rural Iowa, suburban Pennsylvania and western Nebraska have followed.  I finished my most recent assignment in Clarinda on May 18.  Right now I’m in northern British Columbia, to get a first-hand look at the Canadian system. Any identifiable patient information has been included with permission.

Living walking distance from work ranks as a quality of life measure in my book. Here it takes me 20 minutes, a way to build exercise into my day.  I don’t worry about the bears enough to carry pepper spray.

Today I confirmed my professional liability insurance. The Canadian Medical Protective Association normally takes 2 weeks to process a new account, but when I called the polite, friendly person I spoke with exercised great flexibility and understanding and got my coverage started, as of the first of June.

I hope that I can start seeing patients the day the coverage begins.

I got a chance to meet one of the other doctors who, despite taking time off, dropped by the office. With as much warmth and humor as permeates the facility, I can see why he would.

I have found the people here friendly and welcoming, appreciative that I’d spend 3 months here, and eager for me to enjoy myself.

We had another meeting over submarine sandwiches and soup. At the end, I volunteered to find out what we have to do to have a Medical Staff Association.  Thanks to the Internet and some pretty good search engines, it didn’t take long.

I discussed my request for privileges with the Chief of Staff, in particular newborn circumcision, which I’ve been doing since 1979. Nobody here does them, currently the procedure would involve a 2 hour car trip each way.  And the hospital lacks the equipment.  Happy to offer the service for the growing segment wishing an 8th day procedure, I said “No problem,” such tools, now all disposable, come cheap.  We talked briefly about the various techniques; I use the Mogen and the Gomco.

In the afternoon, I went net browsing for those tools, and found, to my dismay, my usual medical equipment distributor’s website blocked.

Some hospital networks block certain sites, and for good reason; but this one I couldn’t figure out, so I resolved to check when I got back to my quarters.

That website I found blocked, even outside the hospital. I went to a competitor’s website and found 3 and 4 figure prices.  I gasped, and went to Ebay, and found what I would need for less than 1/100th of the first set of prices.

They can put the whole program together for less than $200. On the other hand, I might donate the equipment.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

