The thrills of cerumen and B12 deficiency


Real flu has cough, fever, and ache

And I know just the pill you can take

And then there’s the test,

It’s good but not best

But a decision it sure helps me make.

Synopsis: I’m a Family Practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa. In 2010 I danced back from the brink of burnout, and honoring a 1 year non-compete clause, traveled and worked in out-of-the-way places in Alaska, Nebraska, Iowa, and New Zealand. After three years working with a Community Health Center, I went back to adventures in temporary positions until they have an Electronic Medical Record (EMR) system I can get along with. Assignments in Nome, Alaska, rural Iowa, and suburban Pennsylvania stretched into fall 2015. Since last winter I’ve worked in Alaska and western Nebraska, and taken time to deal with my wife’s (benign) brain tumor. After a moose hunt in Canada, and short jobs in western Iowa and Alaska, I am working in Clarinda, Iowa. Any identifiable patient information has been included with permission.

I had a good week in Clarinda.

Orientation on the new job went well; I found it well-organized and well-planned.

The facility not only assigned me a scribe but also a cracker-jack Electronic Medical Record superuser to train me on the 14th new EMR I’ve learned in the last 28 months.

Recognizing the problems of learning a new system, my patients have come no more often than every ½ hour.

Thursday morning went well; I had the immediate gratification of curing the first patient by removing ear wax and the second with osteopathic manipulation.   Close to noon I received lab results on tests ordered earlier in the week, including three vitamin B12 levels.  Two borderline numbers (between 211 and 400) require further testing, and one came in frankly low, less than half the lower limit of normal.  That bit of information made my day; I can save the patient’s life with a simple injection once a week for 12 weeks, then once a month.

Bethany met me for lunch in the hospital cafeteria: well-prepared, healthy food at insanely low prices. I told about how I found my morning not only gratifying but satisfying.

Influenza dominated the afternoon. We have the clinical experience to predict that the annual flu epidemic starts in the north and works its way south, with 90% of the cases in any one location occurring in the course of 3 weeks.  I enjoy taking care of influenza; we have a clear-cut, good but not perfect, lab test and two effective drugs.  The older the patient, the more likely my prescription will prevent death.  Most of my patients here are over the age of 70 with several in their 90s.

The problem with taking care of old people is that I don’t get enough time to talk to them. I could easily spend a morning or afternoon just listening to one patient.  A person can’t get to advanced age without acquiring a large stock of really great stories.

Thanks to a light patient load and a scribe, I finished at 6:00PM. I walked out of the hospital at sunset, ten minutes across dry winter grass and quiet back streets.  We decided to drive back to Sioux City and our own wonderful bed.  We packed the car in less than 20 minutes.  The sky darkened as we traversed two-lane county roads through the rolling hills and farm country. We detoured to Trader Joe’s in Omaha, but missed a turnoff, adding an hour to the trip.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

