Apology and an abnormal thyroid


A veteran I might legally be

Does it feel like that?  Not to me

I sure owe a debt

To the Viet Nam vet

Without any PTSD  

 

Synopsis: I’m a Family Practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa. In 2010 I danced back from the brink of burnout, and honoring a 1 year non-compete clause, travelled and worked in out-of-the-way places in Alaska, Nebraska, Iowa, and New Zealand. After three years working with a Community Health Center, I went back to adventures in temporary positions until they have an Electronic Medical Record (EMR) system I can get along with. A winter in Nome, Alaska, assignments in rural Iowa, a summer with a bike tour in Michigan, and Urgent Care in suburban Pennsylvania stretched into the fall. Since last winter I’ve worked in Alaska and western Nebraska, and taken time to deal with my wife’s (benign) brain tumor.  I just returned from a moose hunt in Canada.  Any identifiable patient information has been included with permission. 

I cleared out most of the month to take some holidays, but I accepted a couple of days’ work in a rural clinic not far from home.

I didn’t get formal training on the Electronic Medical Record. It turned out it didn’t take much to get me going.  They let me dictate my notes and they let me work with a nurse who knows her way around.  It doesn’t hurt that I’ve learned 12 new systems in the last 24 months.

I made that observation to a colleague involved in the residency, who noted that our Family Practice residents have to deal with 7 different systems.

The first day I worked in the new venue, I massaged away the headaches of two patients, and helped two others by taking out ear wax. In the evening, I saw three patients in the ER, two of whom required hospitalization and consultation the next day.

The pace of work went well that next day, and I drove home in a reasonable time frame.

Bethany came with me when I returned at the end of last week, driving past corn and soybean fields in the early stages of harvest.

Doctors can take some pretty rough verbal treatment, and an apology first thing in the morning made my day.

I did several pre-op evaluations. In one case, my findings came so markedly unexpected I had to call the surgeon to formulate a plan.

I cared for a Viet Nam combat vet with no Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. I told him how highly I regard the VA.  I see him as a Real Veteran but I don’t see myself that way.  He reassured me that anyone who has to put up with owning a uniform, and having a rank in a system with bad pay and bad management  qualifies as a Real Veteran.  We had a good discussion about emotional resilience and how it plays a big factor in PTSD.  He gave me permission to write about more than I have.

Even if I can’t write about people, I can write about medical conditions. I really like finding abnormal thyroid results.  Because a thyroid gland, either over- or under-active, can cause a lot of different symptoms.  When my thyroid went into overdrive, I could not sleep, I lost weight, I had no inner peace, and I couldn’t sit still.  I know that, sooner or later, my thyroid will quit working and I’ll need to take replacements.  And at the end of the day, the nurse handed me a slip of paper with an abnormal thyroid result, which explained a lot but not all of the patient’s symptoms.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Apology and an abnormal thyroid”

  1. Gabriela Says:

    Hello,

    I am hoping you can offer advice since I sleep with my head elevated because I wake up feeling sinus pressure and brain fog if I don’t. Can you offer tips on how I should recline myself, what to use and how to prop my lower back, hips, knees and legs so I am in proper alignment?

    Can you please email me the response to spree258@yahoo.com

    I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

