An afternoon with 3 patients


This afternoon, I was happy to see

Patients, but really just three

I couldn’t send the prescription

Without a description

Of where the button happened to be.

Synopsis: I’m a Family Practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa. In 2010 I danced back from the brink of burnout, and honoring a 1 year non-compete clause, travelled and worked in out-of-the-way places in Alaska, Nebraska, Iowa, and New Zealand. After three years working with a Community Health Center, I went back to adventures in temporary positions until they have an Electronic Medical Record (EMR) system I can get along with. A winter in Nome, Alaska, assignments in rural Iowa, a summer with a bike tour in Michigan, and Urgent Care in suburban Pennsylvania stretched into the fall. Last winter found me working in western Nebraska and, later, in coastal Alaska.  After the birth of our first grandchild, I have returned to Nebraska. Any identifiable patient information has been included with permission.

No work for me on this last Monday because of the holiday; I spent Tuesday getting trained for the new EMR. The Basic Life Support (BLS) class took up most of Wednesday, and I left without seeing a single patient.

This morning I looked in on two hospitalized patients that I’ll care for on Friday.

Then I listened to jackhammers outside my office window for the rest of the morning while I did more BLS instruction on line. After all, hospitals only finish up their construction when they die.

My afternoon included 3 patients, scheduled at the rate of one per hour to allow me to figure out the new system. Two came from my generation, one from my parents’ generation.  The first I treated by taking away a medication.  The second, with a very complicated history and a long med list, I treated with gravity.  The EMR guru, sent by the vendor to help the transition, and living away from home for months, gently and patiently talked me through the documentation.  Then, after hours, he needed to leave for family business.

I had to prescribe a medication for the last patient, something I’d not done so far. My nurse, a stranger my end of the EMR, couldn’t help me with a very confusing task.  At that point, late in the afternoon, all the other providers had gone home.  One other remaining nurse stood over my shoulder, and told me what to do.

She had me click on an ellipsis, and then clicked her tongue and said, “Well, I’ve never seen that before.”  Fifteen minutes later, we resorted to calling the prescription in.

It reminded me of the time when the airline scanner wouldn’t take my boarding pass and my name ended up hand-written on the passenger manifest.

At the end of the day, Bethany picked me up. We stepped into an afternoon with a light breeze and a perfect temperature.  Atypical rains have left the sky clear blue and the countryside lush green.

I regretted keeping her waiting when all I’d done was take care of three patients.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

