February 24th, 2015, a day that will live in infamy


When it comes to the drug they call pot
What is it good for? It’s not.
But they were quick on the draw
To pass a new law
And speed up the memory’s rot.

Synopsis: I’m a Family Practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa. In 2010 I danced back from the brink of burnout, and honoring a 1 year non-compete clause, travelled and worked in out-of-the-way places in Alaska, Nebraska, Iowa, and New Zealand. After three years working with a Community Health Center, I am back having adventures in temporary positions until they have an Electronic Medical Record System (EMR) I can get along with. Right now I’m in Nome, Alaska.

Marijuana use runs rampant across the US.

In the early part of the year I asked a patient, a single parent of five and a major pothead, if they would hire a babysitter who got stoned every day, and we agreed that any intoxicant impaired ability to care for children.

My first Monday back brought me to contact with patients running into problems as a direct result of their marijuana abuse.

Mostly hemp excess happens in the context of abuse of other drugs, usually tobacco and alcohol. All three contribute to poor memory, seizures, depression, loss of restful sleep, low testosterone levels (both sexes), low sex drive (both sexes), lowered resistance to infection, poor pain tolerance, social isolation, and irresponsible parenting.

Recently I had a heart-to-heart talk with couples in the maelstrom of dysfunction; the medical problem that brought them in stemmed directly from marijuana abuse. I correctly guessed that both had cold, controlling, distant mothers, and exciting, generous-to-a-fault fathers who failed to follow through on promises and brought repeated disappointments. They readily admitted that each could tell me everything wrong with the other and neither had much of a handle on their own failings. I pointed out that drug abusers can’t exist without enablers, and the cycle can be hard to break because it has roots more than a generation old.

I took a step back and talked about myself. The vast majority of med students, 70%, come from chemically dependent households and most of the rest had other sources of dysfunction in their nurturing families. I skipped the details of my upbringing, but I told them about Alanon and the Adult Children of Alcoholic Parents movement, which use the same 12 steps as Alcoholics Anonymous, and how I went to meetings for 7 years. Every strength is a weakness, every weakness is a strength; it all depends on what you do with them. We agreed that their current approach didn’t work. I replaced a benzodiazapine tranqulizer with Dilantin (most common use=seizure or migraine, but a good second or third choice for almost everything), recommended 12 step meetings for both, and called in Behavioral Health Services.

I learned more about human behavior in dysfunctional families from Alanon than I had from med school.

My last patient requested a back-to-work slip, which I cheerfully supplied. But in the process I uncovered alcohol and marijuana excesses; I accepted at face value the patient’s assertions, and said, “Let me be the first to tell you that nicotine, alcohol, and marijuana will make any medical problem worse and none of them better.”

I could more easily believe that the weed wiped out memory than that all previous docs had missed the chance to educate the patient.

During my two weeks off, the state of Alaska legalized marijuana on February 24th, a date that will live in infamy for those with intact memories, but the pot heads will promptly forget.

I suspect that those in power prefer an apathetic electorate with a poor memory.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

