A seven-week road trip in review


As I welcome in the New Year

Let me make this perfectly clear,

     For this I can vouch:

     I sleep well on a couch.

Watch out for eagles and deer.

I am back in Sioux City after a six-thousand mile, seven-week road trip.  I stopped to visit family in Chicago, New York, Long Island, West Virginia and Virginia.  I saw friends in Iowa City, Pittsburgh, and Columbus, Indiana.  I worked for a month in Keosauqua, in southeast Iowa.  I took the Advanced Trauma Life Support course in South Bend, Indiana.  I relived memories in Illinois and Indiana.  I feasted Thanksgiving in Virginia with Bethany’s family.

Even outside of work, I gave advice about rashes, ears, coughs, nutrition, exercise, bipolar disease, depression, sleep, smoking cessation, alcoholism, sex, and plantar fasciitis.  I helped assemble Ikea furniture and I took stitches out of a dog’s leg.

I hunted deer in Iowa and I didn’t hunt deer in Virginia.

I discovered I like sleeping on a friend’s couch more than I like sleeping in a nice hotel, and that some sofas are more comfortable than some beds.

I ate out a lot.  Portion size nowadays suffices one person for two meals.  Chinese food varies a lot from restaurant to restaurant, which adds to its charm. 

I found out I drive long distances better at night than during the day, and that I never, ever want to drive in New York City again. 

I learned to recognize signs of psychosis in Sweetheart, my GPS.

I saw lots of deer and foxes (living and dead), llamas (all alive), migrating ducks and geese, a few grazing buffalo, dozens of soaring vultures, a piliated woodpecker, and a surprising number of eagles.

I worked in Keosauqua, Iowa, for a month and had a wonderful time; few things bring me as much pleasure as curing a person before they leave.  I like living close enough to work that I can walk; I love working with good colleagues.

Revisiting the routes I travelled when I hitchhiked in the sixties and seventies showed me that the road changes slower than society.   I found more prosperity now than I did then; I saw no hitchhikers anywhere.

Some people figure out things out with time, some people don’t.  A lot of people from my past turned out to be bipolar.  Drama and irony dance with the human condition; even orderly communities wrestle with grief.

Money doesn’t buy happiness but a good night’s sleep comes close.

The number of wind turbines I saw from the highway indicates our country’s energy policy shift towards the renewable.

I get better gas mileage and I see more things to write about when I drive 55 than when I drive 75.

I had a great time everywhere I went, but I like home the best.  I missed my friends, my wife, my house, my kitchen, and my bed. 

I make friends easily but I missed the friends I’ve had the longest.

I missed my social network.

I like geology.  I enjoyed looking at the exposed history of the earth in road cuts.

I missed cooking so much that when Bethany took a weekend and visited me in Keosauqua I cooked beef bourguignon. 

I missed speaking Spanish.

They say you can’t discover new lands if you never lose sight of the shore; I don’t think you can learn how much you love home if you never leave.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

