On pushy recruiters, sleep deprivation, and our tendency to sabotage our own happiness


The price that you pay can be steep

For the nights that you spend without sleep.

     The abuse that you take

     While you’re staying awake

Can lead you to rage and to weep.

I deal with a lot of recruiters for the locum tenens agencie that find short-term work for doctors.  The level of professionalism varies a good deal.   When I started this year of going walkabout, I wanted to experience good recruiters and bad; today I dealt with the worst.

Pushy people can be trusted to be pushy; they cannot be trusted to develop good interpersonal learning skills.  For the first time ever, I told a recruiter not to call, not to email, and to take my name off his list.

In the beginning of this process, I accepted a lot of jobs  that disappeared into a cloud of bait-and-switch smoke (see my posts from March and April).  I’ve learned a lot.  I don’t have to talk to any new recruiters; I know three good ones.

I attended a patient today who might have a lot of different diagnoses, but I suspect chronic, long-term sleep deprivation gives rise to most of the problems.  Of course I ran a lot of lab work, but I did a good deal of career counseling.

Far too many people slice years from their life expectancies for the sake of their employment, notably doctors.  We get a set of skills, acquire an exaggerated sense of our own importance, and sacrifice our sleep.  Sometimes life-and-death issues justify the sleeplessness, more often late nights result from a misplaced sense of responsibility. 

Other professions provide necessary services in the wee hours, and a lot of people work nights who don’t have to.  They effectively move to a different time zone than their families live in, sabotaging intimacy.  A predictable cascade of events follows, some physical, some sociological; most to the detriment of the person, the family and society.

An industrialist friend of my started a third shift in his plant, and I begged him not to.  What you make up in increased production, I said, you’ll lose in work-related accidents and the families of your workers will suffer.   He said that he had a lot of people asking to work nights.

I’m not working nights at all in my current position.  I walk out of the office promptly at closing time: five o’clock Monday, Wednesday, and Friday; seven on Tuesday and Thursday.  This afternoon after work I went out to the trap range with my shotgun.  I can blame my mediocre shooting on the bad wind.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “On pushy recruiters, sleep deprivation, and our tendency to sabotage our own happiness”

  1. Tammy Speir Says:

    Sleep deprivation can really wreck havoc on any ones health. ;

    Our personal web site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/almond-milk-benefits/

Leave a Reply

