Of chest pain and delusional GPS units


The chest pain is the worst part

Though a work-up was done at the start

     I’m out here in rural

     So I got a referral.

The problem, I think, is the heart.

I call my GPS unit Sweetheart.  Most of the time she (she speaks with a feminine voice) reliably gets me from place to place. 

Once in a while she loses contact with reality; while Bethany and I were driving from Anchorage to Fairbanks, north of Denali she became quite confused and wanted us to turn left when all we could see was roadless moose, bear, and wolf habitat.

I drive 1.3 miles from my hotel to the clinic where I work, and most of the time Sweetheart guides me correctly.  About one-third of the time, in one particular segment of the drive coming or going, she gets confused and tries to have me do maneuvers ranging from U-turn to cloverleaf.   I’ll usually say something like, “Are you sure, Sweetheart?  Did you take your medicine today?”  I’ve now learned the route, and the places where she becomes delusional, and I’ve taken to not turning her on to get to work.

Friday afternoon I took care of a third grader, whose mother gave me permission to include the information below.  With a main complaint of cough, he has a long history of chest pain and pallor with exertion.  Sometimes if he plays too hard he has to stop and rest.  His cough started with one of those episodes.

The mother read the alarm on my face, assured me the patient had been to a pediatric cardiologist, and described a thorough work-up.

The mother and I agreed in our lack of comfort with the situation and the desirability of a second opinion.   I called one of my colleagues and friends, a pediatric cardiologist in Sioux City.  I gave him the story and he accepted the referral.  Then I told him why he hadn’t heard from me since May, what I’d been doing and where I’d been going.  I explained that my non-compete clause doesn’t apply thirty miles away from Sioux City.

After we hung up I gave the mother the doctor’s name and phone number so that she can call and schedule an appointment.

Then I did yoyo tricks for the patient.

No doctor practices in a vacuum, all of us depend on a referral network; I’m most comfortable sending patients to doctors I know and trust.  In this case, I didn’t know the pediatric cardiologist the patient had seen, but I knew the history sounded like a heart problem.

There is no substitute for thinking things through.  No matter how good your GPS unit, you still need to watch where you’re going.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

