Gravity therapy for sinusitis


When I say no it causes a scene

Because the truth is not what it’s been

     It’s a plus or a minus

     Antibiotics for sinus

Whether or not the mucus is green.

Sinusitis hit me in the winter and then spring of 1973.  At that time I lacked money for a car or for a doctor.  A bicycle carried me from point A to point B, and for weeks and then months the cold Colorado wind drove spikes of pain into my inflamed sinuses.

Poverty loves company more than even misery does.  I fixed a friend’s bike and in return I got the yoga treatment for sinusitis: hang your head upside down for five minutes.

It seemed hokey to me, but even if I had no money I had time, and per instructions I lay crossways on my bed, face down, with my mid-chest hitting the edge of the bed.  I relaxed and, sure enough, the top of my head pointed at the floor.  Four minutes later I felt a pop around my eyes and gross brown liquid drained out my nose by the teaspoon.  When I stood up my sinus headache had disappeared.

At the time I knew no anatomy nor physiology; I had no idea that the sinuses under the eyes drain uphill, and when a cold or allergies attack the outflow becomes blocked by swollen tissue. 

Medical school physical exam taught us to apply pressure on the cheekbones if we suspected sinusitis; if the patient experienced relief, they said, antibiotics would probably cure the problem.  One day in the late ‘80’s while performing that maneuver, I heard a loud squeak, gurgle, gurgle, and the patient experienced immediate relief.  Since then I’ve tried the same technique hundreds of time and never replicated the results, though about a third of the patients will experience some improvement.

Decades ago the truth about sinusitis ran something like this: antibiotics only help if the mucus is green.  Since then, we’ve found out that sinusitis gets better 85% of the time with antibiotics and 75% of the time without them.  Which means that for every one person I really help with amoxicillin, seven others took the medication for no good reason.  Oh, and color of mucus doesn’t make any difference.

In my current position I’m seeing a lot of “sinusitis” and I don’t prescribe antibiotics.  The medical profession did such a great job selling the public on the need for those drugs for this diagnosis that unselling becomes problematic. 

I can write a prescription for the latest -cillin or -mycin much faster than I can explain to a patient why they don’t need it; naturally there are those docs who find themselves behind schedule and cave in to the pressure from the patient.

Re-education for physicians and the population will take time.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Gravity therapy for sinusitis”

  1. commorancy Says:

    Letting gravity do the work alone to drain sinuses is only about half the answer. If there is no pressure in the sinus, it may not drain on its own. The only way to make that happen is if you force pressure into the sinuses through the Valsalva maneuver with the head pointed downward. This will force pressure into the sinus like blowing up a balloon. The pressure going in will force the liquid out. Eventually, all of the liquid will vacate and the pressure will equalize to normal leaving a drained sinus.

    I have to do this at the end of every sinus cold to clear out my lower sinuses. There is no other way to do this easily. Sometimes it is even necessary on upper sinuses. If I try gravity alone, it won’t work. I combine gravity (moves the liquid towards sinus exit) with the Valsalva maneuver (insert pressure to force it out). This is guaranteed to clear the sinuses as long as the sinuses aren’t so inflamed that the Valsalva won’t work, in which case you’ll need something to reduce the inflammation first (i.e., Flonase).

  2. M Hobbs Says:

    Thank you for this concise and well written article. Over the years I’ve taken antibiotics many times to treat sinusitis, and I’ve found I do just as well to inhale steam, take an anti-inflammatory, and find a position that facilitates drainage. I’ll try hanging face-down off my bed this morning.

  3. ericjs Says:

    You might also try a 90 degree angle instead. One theory is that the maxillary sinus is still built for a quadrupedal posture. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21303605
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23731852

Leave a Reply

