A privileges and credentials packet goes out


It’s not the status that’s quo,

After quite a few flops in a row

     It was quite a long caper

     To fill out the paper

And the agent came through like a pro.

Synopsis:  I’m a family practitioner from Sioux City, Iowa.  While my one-year, thirty-mile non-compete clause runs out I’m having adventures and writing about them.  I’ve worked in Barrow, Alaska (the northernmost point in the United States), I went to the American Academy of Family Practice Annual Scientific Assembly in Denver, and I took a week to visit a suddenly stricken friend.

Yesterday I got together the final paperwork pieces for the job I plan to take for the month of December.

A new medical position never runs without complications; a locum tenens job where the duration is short carries its own complications.  A Curriculum Vitae precedes any negotiation.  So far all prospective employers have asked for copies of medical licenses, residency certificate, medical school diploma, DEA certificate, CSR certificate (a state registration that qualifies a doctor to prescribe narcotics and other controlled substances), along with work history, malpractice history, and criminal history.  If the process continues, there’s a questionnaire from four to eighty-seven pages long (I didn’t fill out the monstrosity intended for another country; I decided I’d rather go somewhere else than spend weeks completing paperwork) which is sometimes accessible online.  And if all goes well, at the very end comes approximately twenty-five pages called Privileges and Credentials.  This last batch recaps everything submitted so far with a few more things thrown in.

The agency I’m working with took the information I’d given prior and filled in most of the P&C form. 

As I’ve said yes so far to 17 jobs (of which three have panned out), I’ve gotten good at completing the paperwork.

I got a call around noon, asking me if I’d like to have the raw material for privileges and credentials FedEx’d or emailed.  As I’ll be out of town for two weeks, I of course asked for the PDF file.  I printed it out at 1:00 PM and went to work.  At 1:38PM I called with some clarification questions.  I had to phone to find out the number of my professional liability insurance policies for the last seven years as well as the email addresses for those docs I’ve listed as references.  At 2:00 PM the material was ready to go.  However I had to learn how to use the FedEx system.  After a few more calls, and a light lunch, I dropped the material off at the FedEx store nearby.

I’m not complaining about the process.  Indeed, for the last 22 years I’ve sat on St. Luke’s Credentials Committee.  We’re very careful about who gets to practice, as every hospital should be.

This same agency’s recruiter has shown exceptional attention to detail, asking me to specify six parameters of reimbursement before she started negotiating with the client.   Yesterday afternoon I received my schedule as well as reimbursement plan, about 4:00 PM.

Regretfully, not all agencies have been so well organized.

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “A privileges and credentials packet goes out”

  1. macario llamas Says:

    Thinking in of getting a locum job in New Zealand, I just graduated from Medical school, I was told that they have good opportunities. What did you like most about New zealand and what did you like the least? What agency did you used, I am trying to use Nz locum.

    • walkaboutdoc Says:

      The thing I liked least about NZ were the roads: narrow, rough, noisy, and marginally maintained. I liked the people the most: friendly, respectful but informal, reasonable expectations. And no medical malpractice. They have their priorities straight.

      I went with NZLocums; they pay better and the orientation is fabulous. But if you go with them, try to have your visa in your hand before you get on the plane; see my posts from the two weeks we spent in Wellington.

      I’m not sure but if you’re just out of med school and haven’t been through residency/postgrad, you might be limited to slots as a registrar (similar to intern or resident in the states).

Leave a Reply

